Wood Soil & Water Conservation District - John Hirzel Memorial Scholarship
An Environmental or Agricultural Studies Scholarship

John Hirzel, of Pemberville, served on the Wood Soil and Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors 1993-1998. His sincere interest in the success of the district programs encouraged the development of education programs and good stewardship practices within the county.

In appreciation of John’s dedication and zeal for local conservation, the Wood SWCD established the John Hirzel Memorial Scholarship. The district funded scholarship is awarded annually, per board member approval, to a local student pursuing an agricultural or natural resource course of study entering their junior or senior year of college.

1. Applicant and/or parents must be Wood County residents.
2. Applicant must be entering their college junior or senior year.
3. Applicant must be maintaining a 2.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale.
4. Applicant must be pursuing either an environmental or agricultural related major course of study.

Application Process
1. Completed application form.
2. Official transcript of college grades.
3. Two letters of recommendation.
4. Completed application form, official transcript of college grades, and two letters of recommendation must be received by application deadline.
5. Application deadline: June 1 of current year

Method of Distribution
1. Check is made payable to college and recipient.
2. Payable when college fees are due.
3. Entire amount must be used within one year from date of announcement of scholarship to recipient.

Selection Process
1. Selection for the award will be made by the Wood Soil and Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors. The board may optionally choose to include others in the selection process. Selection committee will review all applications and will have the option to interview applicants if desired.
2. Selection of scholarship recipient will be announced by July 1 of current year.

1. One scholarship for up to $1000 or two in the amount of up to $500 each.

John Hirzel Memorial Scholarship

Past Recipients:

2006 Amanda Davidson

2008 Stacie Wenig, Dustin Brown, Amy Wensink, Andrew Stickel - $500 each

2009 Rebecca Brinker

2010 John Moser

2011 Haley Sheidler, Charlotte Freeman

2012 Caroline Weihl, Lisa Kochheiser

2013 Shelby George

2016 Amanda Barndt

Scholarship Application
bernie-1 Bernie Scott Chairman

Business Hours
Monday - Friday
7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

District Board Meetings
Wood SWCD Monthly Board Meetings are held the third Friday of every month at 8:00 a.m. at the District office. The public is welcome.

+ Read More

COLUMBUS, Ohio, Oct. 21, 2016 – The U.S. Department of Agriculture's Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) announ

+ Read More